Life sciences · Phase 3 Trial
ClinicalTrials.gov · September 22, 2026
No summary has been generated for this record yet. What follows is drawn from its source metadata only.
Phase 3 Trial.
No findings were extractable from the material analysed.
Safety was not reported in the material analysed. Check the source before drawing any conclusion about harm.
The source did not state who this applies to in practice.
Graded across the dimensions that decide whether you should act, each from what the source actually supports. There is no single score, and where a dimension was not assessed it says so.
This record has not been graded across any dimension yet. Treat the label above as provisional and read the source.
What is missing. This record has no bottom line, key findings, reported figures, evidence dimensions. That is a gap in the analysis, not a judgement about the study.
Registry record from ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT05955612). This is a study registration, not published results. Lead sponsor: University of Oxford. Recruitment status: COMPLETED. Phase: PHASE3. Study type: INTERVENTIONAL. Enrollment: 532 participants (ACTUAL). Conditions: Sepsis. Interventions: PROCEDURE: Procalcitonin measurement. Primary outcome measures: Length of antibiotic treatment , Through study completion, an average of 1 month. Brief summary: Trial design: Randomised controlled, two-arm, parallel, clinical trial to assess the efficacy and safety of sequential daily procalcitonin assessments to guide de-escalation of empirical antibiotic therapy in adult patients with sepsis. Trial settings Trial site is Chattogram Medical College Hospital (CMCH), Bangladesh. CMCH is tertiary care hospital with undergraduate and postgraduate teaching facilities. This tertiary hospital receives referrals from urban and rural areas of southern Bangladesh and has basic facilities for intensive care and haemodialysis. Trial Participants: Male or female hospitalised patients, 16-65 years of age, with confirmed or suspected sepsis Patients (Total 532) will be 1:1 randomised to either: * Intervention arm: daily measurement of serum procalcitonin concentrations to guide de-escalation of antibiotics (Intervention arm: 266), or * Control arm: standard of practice to guide de-escalation of antibiotics without procalcitonin assessments (Control arm: 266). Patients will be followed-up until ICU discharge and/or hospital discharge with an additional follow-up at 28 days after discharge. Funder: Wellcome Trust of Great Britain Grant reference number from Wellcome Trust: 220211/A/20/Z